Rusty jingle bells

Unlike my husband, I prefer my bells a little less shiny.

I bought some of these bells from the Dollar Tree a couple of years back with the intention of rusting them and never got to it. I forgot to take a pic of them and got this photo from the net.

I took a quart mason jar and placed the bells inside, then covered them with white vinegar. Shaking them around every day for 3-4 days, I watched as they slowly lost their shimmer and began to rust. (We had company so I didn’t photograph the process, oops).

I poured off the vinegar and filled the jar with water, draining it every day and refilling with fresh water.

After about a week, start to finish, this is what I was left with.

Aren’t they scrumptious?

Very inexpensive little rusty upgrade.

You can possibly get this effect in a shorter time. I wasn’t in a hurry when I did it. 🙂

SK/kg

Leave a comment