I made a trip to Hobby Lobby with my buddy Mary yesterday.  Had a couple of things in mind I was looking for, but ended up buying this adorable stencil that fits me to a tee!

I originally was thinking of stencilling a shirt, but thought I would try my hand at a sign first.

I already had the wood-look scrapbook paper I bought a few months ago and never used, and an 8×10 canvas panel I bought in a pack from Amazon.  I had never worked with the canvas before, so I thought I would begin by gluing the paper to it without prepping it to see if it would work.

I put a thick layer of glue onto the canvas, and pay the paper on top and pressed out as many bubbles as I could.

I folded the edges over and let dry overnight.

After trimming the edges, I put a layer of mod podge on top.  While drying, it bubbled up some.  I probably could have avoided some of that by priming the canvas.  Lesson learned. But with the busy-ness of the paper, I don’t think it is a problem. I let it dry and pressed out as many bubbles as I could- I started a bit too soon and messed up one small spot which I repaired by tearing a small piece of leftover paper and gluing it down with some mod podge and covering the top as well.  The rustic look of the paper hides it well. I also tore a corner that is very visible, but I kept going.

I took my can of Easy tac and sprayed the back of the stencil, waited 60 seconds, and placed it on top of the canvas.

I didn’t have a stencil brush handy, so I found a foam brush and decided to improvise.

I cut the pointed end off of the brush.  I took some latex paint I had and added some baking soda to thicken it up, hoping to prevent the paint from bleeding.


Then I dipped the tip of the brush in the paint,  pounced most of it off, and began pouncing the mostly dry brush onto the stencil.  Straight up and down.

And here is the finished product.   As you can see, there was a small amount of bleeding, but because of the rustic-ness  of the sign,  it actually adds to it.
I think it came out so cute!

Leave a Reply

