I am one that could eat chocolate all day long if I let myself–so why not start the day with it? I searched the net and found a lot of smoothies with chocolate, then I proceeded to create my own using some ideas I found.

What I discovered is you can take one recipe and make it hot or cold–WHAT!?

I have never been one that has eaten hot cereal, it’s a texture thing for me, so my preference of the two is the cold version. Simply because I can close my eyes and pretend it’s a shake for breakfast. Does it taste like a shake? No. But it is very healthy and pretty darn tasty.

Here are the ingredients you will need:

1 1/4 cup milk–any kind will work, your preference, I used whole milk. Try it with almond!

1/2 cup oats

2 tablespoons cocoa powder-the unsweetened kind

1 tablespoon nut or seed butter-I used natural pb, but try others!

Sweetener-I used two packs of stevia because that is what I had, try a tablespoon of agave, or maple syrup

1/2 teaspoon vanilla

Ice

Now, here’s the easy part-place all ingredients except ice in a container, stir, seal, and place in frig overnight.


In the morning, throw in the blender. I blended mine smooth before adding the ice, because I wanted the oatmeal really smooth. Makes a lot, and with all that fiber, keeps you full for a while. You can also leave out the ice if preferred.


Now here’s the good part. I only placed half in my glass, and poured the other half in a saucepan over medium heat. Stir constantly until the consistency you like, keep a cup of water nearby to stir in a bit til you get it just right.


When it gets hot, pour in a bowl, drizzle some nut butter on top-or a few chocolate chips. It is about the thickness of chocolate pudding- without the guilt!


If you do half and half, you will have a hot cereal and a drink- and they both have chocolate!

Try it with other things like bananas or strawberries, or leave out the pb and add cinnamon. Experiment!

I have had this the last three mornings for breakfast, and will have again tomorrow. I have also made in the a.m. without soaking overnight and was fine that way too, just a bit less smooth.

Let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

