So, I made a trip to Hobby Lobby yesterday to buy baskets for a storage project I have in mind. For those of you that don’t know, HL is my favorite store.  And I never purchase anything full price there, Mama would be proud.  I am usually quite careful to go when what I need is half price, but for some reason I had a stupid spell–that is what my Aunt Joy calls them–and went on the week that baskets were not on sale. But what I ended up getting made me so happy, I couldn’t wait to share it with you. Even before I put it up! So here goes.

When I found out the baskets weren’t on sale, I looked for other bargains to buy–after all, I can’t go and not buy anything!  I love coming up with new ideas for wall decor, so I decided to walk around and see what caught my fancy.  I ended up in the spring shop, where I found this adorable little trellis with chicken wire on it.  It was about 30 inches tall and regular cost was $7.99, but it was 40% off, so it ended up being $4.79, plus tax of course.  Now, this was meant to be used outside, but I had something else in mind when I saw it. The price was so low, that I grabbed two of them.

I was starting to get an idea in my head of what I wanted to do with them.  I wanted to have a layered effect with this particular wall piece, so I kept looking.  Then I came across this basket, also in the spring shop.  

It has metal sides and a flat wooden bottom.  It is about 19 inches lengthwise and the regular price was $17.99 with 40% off- because it was from the spring decor- so it came to $10.79. My thoughts were starting to come together.  I wanted one more piece to complete the look I was going for.  I was on a mission.  I thought of a cross, or a picture, or even a clock.  But I decided on the first letter of my last name. This is what I found.

This letter is metal and 7 inches long.  Regular price was $9.99, but at 50% off, I got it for $4.99. Now to get home and see what I was going to do.  

First I lay the two trellises side by side and tied them together using twine.  This was mainly to keep them lined up as I finished the project.

I tied them in two places.

Then I placed that adorable basket on top.  How cute is this already??

The letter K finished it off.  I love how this came out!  Exactly what I had in mind.  It has that rustic, farmhouse look I was going for.  As I said, I haven’t hung it up yet, not sure what room I will put it in, but I was so excited to share it with you I had to post right away.  I thought of adding some burlap inside behind the letter, but I like the way the basket is distressed, so I decided not to.

To hang it up, I will use some small nails or staples to hang the trellises, just until I can screw the basket into the wall.  I will make sure and put the screws behind where the K will go. There are two holes on the back of the letter to hang it, so I will do that part last.  At least that is my plan for now, once I begin to hang it up, things may change.  I will update at that point.

Don’t be afraid to use outdoor decorations indoors, and for a different purpose than the intended one. Use your imagination! This project only cost $27 and some change to put together.  I think Joanna Gaines would be proud.

Hopefully baskets are on sale next week so I can get started on that other project.  🙂

Update:

I decided to hang in my entryway, so I stapled the trellis to the wall in four places that would be hidden behind the basket.

I measured and placed two nails in the basket where the K would hang. I just used carpet tacks since they were handy.

It wobbled a bit from side to side, so I made a couple of shims from paint sticks and taped them on the bottom behind two prenailed holes. I nailed it up, but had to add two more nails for stability.

Then I hung up the letter. I think I found the perfect spot for it!

3 thoughts on “rustic wall decor

Leave a Reply

